14 Griffons earn All-MIAA football honors; Jordan, Groner named 1st Team

MWSUThe Missouri Western football team had 13 players named to the All-MIAA teams which was announced Tuesday (Nov. 19) morning by the league office. The Griffons had two first team players in sophomore defensive back Mike Jordan and junior punter Scott Groner. Sophomore running back Raphael Spencer, senior tight end Reggie Jordan, senior defensive tackle Austin Baska, sophomore linebacker Yomi Alli and senior offensive lineman Jeremy Jacobsen were named second team while sophomore defensive tackle Arbanas Elliott was named to the third team.

Michael Jordan (DB, 6-0, 200, So., Hazelwood, Mo.) was named to the first team for the first time in his career after being named MIAA Freshman of the Year and honorable mention in 2012. This season Jordan finished with 48 total tackles with 36 being solo. He had two tackles for a loss to go along with three interceptions and eight pass break-ups. Jordan had seven tackles twice this season against Fort Hays State and Emporia State.

Scott Groner (P, 6-4, 200, Jr., Tecoma, Victoria (Australia)) had an outstanding season averaging an MIAA best 42.6 yards per kick. He ranked 11th in the nation with that average. Groner punted 50 times for 2,132 with a long of 61 yards on September 21, 2013 at Nebraska-Kearney. He had nine kicks of 50 or more yards to go along with 13 kicks inside the 20. This marks the first time in his career that he has been named to the first team. He was an honorable mention selection in 2011.

Raphael Spencer (RB, 5-9, 190, So., Kansas City, Mo.) was named second team All-MIAA for the first time in his career. He finished the season rushing for 1,312 yards on 198 carries and 12 touchdowns. He averaged 119.3 yards per game which is first in the MIAA and 19th in the nation. He ran for over 100 yards six times this season and over 200 yards once which was at Central Oklahoma when he went for 221 yards on 24 carries. This season he also caught 21 passes for 150 yards. Spencer was named MIAA Player of the Week on November 11, 2013 for his 193 yards two touchdown performance at Washburn in a 34-31 victory. He is currently 9th all-time in rushing with 1,920 yards in his career.

Reggie Jordan (TE, 6-3, 240, Sr., Hazelwood, Mo.) was named second team All-MIAA for the first time in his career. This past season he had 23 catches for 366 yards and four touchdowns which included a two touchdown performance against Pittsburg State. He had two catches for 81 yards in that game. He also had three rushes for 22 yards on the season. Last sason he was an honorable mention All-MIAA selection as well as an honorable mention D2Football.com All-American.

Austin Baska (DL, 6-4, 283, Sr., Parkville, Mo.) was named second team All-MIAA for the first time in his career. Baska finished with 52 tackles from his defensive tackle position. He had 15 solo tackles and 37 assisted. He finished with seven tackles for a loss and 1.5 sacks. He got his first career interception on October 5 against Central Oklahoma. Baska was an honorable mention selection in 2011. Baska had a season high eight tackles against Pittsburg State on October 26.

Jeremy Jacobsen (OL, 6-3, 315, Sr., Bettendorf, Iowa) was named to the second team for the first time in his career. Jacobsen started all 11 games at the center position for the Griffons. He anchored a very young offensive line that helped the Griffons average 40.2 points per game and 438.4 yards per game. He also helped the Griffon running backs rush for 231.2 yards per game averaging 5.3 yards per rush with 31 touchdowns.

Arbanas Elliot (DL, 6-4, 290, So., Kansas City, Mo.) was named to the third team for the first time in his career. Elliot started all 11 games for the Griffons finishing with 27 tackles with eight being solo. He had three tackles for a loss and one sack. He also had one forced fumble, two quarterback hurries and two pass break-ups. He had a season high five tackles against Nebraska-Kearney.

Senior quarterback Travis Partridge, sophomore wide receiver Stephon Weaver, senior wide receiver Derek Libby, junior defensive end John Oglesby, junior linebacker Stephen Juergens and senior linebacker Nick Williams were named to the honorable mention squad.

The Griffons finished the season with an 8-3 overall record and 7-3 MIAA record. It was the eighth time in the past nine seasons and 11th time in Head Coach Jerry Partridge’s tenure that the Griffons have won eight or more games.

— MWSU Sports Information —