Graves to work on major water infrastructure legislation

Screen Shot 2013-11-16 at 8.38.11 AMThis week,  Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chairman Bill Shuster (R-PA) and Ranking Member Nick J. Rahall, II (D-WV) issued the following statements after House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) named the members selected to serve on the House-Senate conference committee tasked with resolving the differences between the Water Resources Reform and Development Act (H.R. 3080) and the Senate’s version of the water resources legislation.
“This is an excellent team of knowledgeable, thoughtful, and hard-working Members of Congress,” Shuster said. “I look forward to their valuable input as we work towards a fiscally responsible final measure that improves our economic competitiveness and helps promote job growth through strengthening our water resources infrastructure.”
“One of the key concerns I heard at the August field hearing was with the way the Corps currently acquires land,” Rep. Graves noted, citing House Small Business Committee hearing in St. Joseph in August seeking input from stakeholders regarding the management of the Missouri River.  “The Corps should not needlessly buy up land without having an express purpose for doing so.  This is a longstanding problem that Congressman Luetkemeyer and I have worked together to solve for several years, and which is addressed in this bill.”


On October 23rd, the House overwhelmingly (417 to 3) approved the bipartisan H.R. 3080 that cuts federal red tape and bureaucracy, streamlines the infrastructure project delivery process, fosters fiscal responsibility, and strengthens our water transportation networks to promote America’s competitiveness, prosperity, and economic growth.

Once the conference committee agrees to a final measure, the House and Senate must approve the conference report before it can be sent to the President for his signature.

The following Members were named to the conference committee:


House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

Bill Shuster (PA)
John J. Duncan, Jr. (TN)
Frank LoBiondo (NJ)
Sam Graves (MO)
Shelley Moore Capito (WV)
Candice Miller (MI)
Duncan Hunter (CA)
Larry Bucshon (IN)
Bob Gibbs (OH)
Richard Hanna (NY)
Daniel Webster (FL)
Tom Rice (SC)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Rodney Davis (IL)

House Natural Resources Committee:

Doc Hastings (WA)
Rob Bishop (UT)


House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:

Nick J. Rahall, II (WV)
Peter DeFazio (OR)
Corrine Brown (FL)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX)
Tim Bishop (NY)
Donna Edwards (MD)
John Garamendi (CA)
Janice Hahn (CA)
Rick Nolan (MN)
Lois Frankel (FL)
Cheri Bustos (IL)

House Natural Resources Committee:

Grace Napolitano (CA)