Six Griffon football players named to Don Hansen All-Super Region Three team

Six Griffon football players were named to the 2012 Don Hansen All-Super Region Three Team which was was announced Wednesday (Jan. 9).

Quarterback Travis Partridge, running back Michael Hill and offensive lineman Macon Allan were selected to the first team offense while defensive end David Bass was selected first team defense. Defensive end Ben Pister and saftey Shane Simpson were selected to the third team.

Michael Hill, a finalist for the 2012 Harlon Hill Trophy, was named the Super Region Three Offensive Player of the Year rushing for for 2,168 yards and 16 touchdowns while leading the Griffons to a school record 12 victories and the quarterfinals of the NCAA-II playoffs.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2012 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team will be named later this month.

Great America Conference champion Henderson State University led the way with eight honorees, while NCAA Division II playoff participants University of Minnesota-Duluth and Northwest Missouri State University had seven honorees apiece. Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference champion and national semifinalist Minnesota State University and Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association champion Missouri Western State University received six selections apiece.

A total of 103 players earned some form of Don Hansen All-Super Region Three honors. Players from 38 of the 46 football-playing schools in Super Region Three earned All-Region accolades.

— MWSU Sports Information —